This is Charlie. | maennerpflanze

 This is Charlie. 

Tree of happiness

(Pachira aquatica) 

Pot-Ø: 25cm

Height: approx. 105cm

He 

makes you

happy.

 Care tips

  • The Pachira aquatic loves a half-shaded position.

  • Keep the soil moist in summer, but avoid waterlogging in the root area. In winter, the soil may dry a little between waterings. 

  • Regular spraying with water ensures beautiful foliage. 

  • Fertilise once a month during summer.

  • Turn the plant from time to time: it tends to grow towards the light.  

Symbolism, colours & shapes

Pachira aquatica, also known as “Tree of happiness”, usually has two to three intertwined or twisted stems and deep green leaves that resemble a hand with five fingers. The plant grows quickly and forms its beautiful leaf crown quite fast. The structure is extremely impressive thanks to the large leaves on long leaf stalks. This makes the plant appear less massive, as the light can shine through it. Pachira aquatica stores water in its trunk and therefore requires little care. This makes this strong green houseplant attractive for people who love imposing greenery in the house but don't want to spend too much time caring for it.

According to Chinese feng shui doctrine, the leaves that look like green hands with a little imagination, seize luck and hold it in their twisted trunks like a treasure. In Asia, the plant is also called “Money tree”. It is a traditional gift for the housewarming ceremony because it is supposed to bring wealth and happiness into the house. In China, the number 5 stands for the five elements. This also makes the 5-fingered leaves of the Pachira very popular. The effect can be intensified by placing five plants in a round pot, braiding and connecting them.
 

Origin

Pachira aquatica is native to the tropical regions of Central and South America. The name comes from an old Indian language of Guyana and means “sweet water nut”. In its areas of origin, the plant grows mainly in places that are frequently flooded by rivers flowing by. In addition, it thrives in other humid habitats such as shores, bogs and humid mountain forests. In the wild, the plant can reach a height of about 20 m. It blooms with enormously long, yellow petals, from which oval brown fruits develop, which can reach a length of 30 cm. These are used as a substitute for cocoa.

© Texts in cooperation with blumenbuero.de

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4 

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Phone: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Texts in cooperation with blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch

Voici Charlie. | maennerpflanze

 Voici Charlie. 

Arbre porte-bonheur

(Pachira aquatica) 

Pot-Ø: 25cm

Hauteur: env. 105cm

Il 

te rend

heureux.

Conseils de soin

  • Le Pachira aquatica aime un endroit semi-ombragé.

  • Garde le sol humide en été, mais évite l'eau stagnante au niveau des racines. En hiver, le sol peut s'assécher un peu entre les arrosages. 

  • Une nébulisation régulière avec de l'eau assure un beau feuillage. 

  • Fertilise la plante une fois par mois pendant l’été.

  • Tourne la plante de temps en temps: l'arbre a tendance à pousser vers la lumière.  

 Symbolique, couleurs et formes 

Le Pachira aquatica, aussi connue sous le nom de «Arbre porte-bonheur», a généralement deux ou trois tiges entrelacées ou tordues et des feuilles vert foncé qui ressemblent à une main et ses cinq doigts. La plante pousse rapidement et forme une belle couronne de feuilles. La structure est extrêmement impressionnante grâce aux grandes feuilles qui reposent sur de longs pétioles. Cela rend la plante moins massive et la lumière peut la traverser. La plante d’appartement stocke l'eau dans son tronc et nécessite donc peu d'entretien. Cela rend cette plante d'intérieur attrayante pour ceux qui aiment avoir beaucoup de verdure dans la maison sans avoir trop à s’en occuper.

Selon la doctrine chinoise du feng shui, les feuilles du Pachira, qui ressemblent à des mains vertes avec un peu d'imagination, saisissent le bonheur et le tiennent dans leur tronc tordu comme un trésor. En Asie, la plante est également nommée «arbre à monnaie». C'est un cadeau traditionnel pour la pendaison de crémaillère, car le Pachira est censé apporter richesse et bonheur à la maison. En Chine, le chiffre 5 représente les cinq éléments. Cela rend les feuilles à 5 doigts du Pachira très populaires. L'effet peut être renforcé en plaçant cinq plantes dans un pot rond et en les reliant en les tressant.
 

Provenance

Le Pachira aquatica est originaire des régions tropicales d'Amérique centrale et d'Amérique du Sud. Le nom vient d'une ancienne langue indienne du Guyana et signifie autant que «noix d'eau douce». Dans ses régions d'origine, la plante pousse principalement dans des endroits souvent inondés par les rivières. En outre, il pousse dans d'autres habitats humides tels que les rives, les marais et les forêts de montagne humides. Dans la nature, la plante peut atteindre une hauteur de 20 m. Elle y fleurit avec des pétales jaunes extrêmement longs, d'où naissent des fruits bruns ovales qui peuvent atteindre une bonne trentaine de centimètres de long. Ceux-ci sont utilisés comme succédanés du cacao.

© Textes en coopération avec blumenbuero.de

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Tél.: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

S'abonner à la newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Textes en coopération avec blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch