This is Harry. | maennerpflanze

 This is Harry. 

Mother-in-Law’s Tongue  (Sansevieria laurentii)   

Pot-Ø: 18cm

Height: approx. 60cm

Who

cares?

Care tips

  • This plant likes to be in a bright place, but does not love direct sunlight.

  • Give this desert dweller little water, let the soil dry well until the next watering.

  • Most important: It is better to water the plant less than too much. 

Symbolism, colours & shapes 

The spiky tip of the leaf has earned the plant’s nickname, the "Mother-in-Law’s Tongue". So if you have chosen this plant for the mother of your significant other, tell her right away that this gift is not a negative allusion.  

You love being able to choose various options? Fortunately, there are about 70 different species of this plant. Typical is its grey-green coloring, with horizontal stripes, spots and yellow edges. Would you rather have a darker plant? Then place it further away from the window. If you prefer lighter leaves, then a place at the window is optimal. The leaves are stiff, sword-shaped, sharply-pointed and rise in a rosette from a thick rhizome. These impressive peaks are usually no taller than one meter. They use all their strength to grow. Even the pot can burst if it's not big enough. Flowers rarely appear. But if they do, your patience will be rewarded by a lovely sweet fragrance.
 

Origin

The Sansevieria is used to warmth because it comes from desert areas, including Ethiopia. In 1794 the naturalist Carl Peter Thunberg gave this plant its botanical name after the Italian scientist, inventor and aristocrat Raimondo di Sangro, VII Prince of Sansevero

© Texts in cooperation with blumenbuero.de

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4 

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Phone: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Texts in cooperation with blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch

Voici Harry. | maennerpflanze

 Voici Harry. 

Langue de belle-mère

(Sansevieria laurentii)   

Pot-Ø: 18cm

Hauteur: env. 60cm

Who

cares?

 Conseils de soin 

  • Elle aime un endroit lumineux, mais pas la lumière directe du soleil.

  • Donnez peu d’eau à cet habitant du désert, laissez bien sécher la terre jusqu’à l’arrosage suivant.

  • L'astuce la plus importante: mieux vaut trop peu d’eau que trop. 

 Symbolique, couleurs et formes 

La pointe piquante de la feuille a valu à la plante le surnom de «langue de belle-mère». Donc, si tu as choisi cette plante pour la mère de ton partenaire, dis-lui tout de suite que ce cadeau n’est pas une allusion négative.  

Tu aimes les choix? Heureusement, il y a environ 70 espèces différentes de cette plante. Typique est la coloration des feuilles avec des bandes transversales, des taches et des bords jaunes. Aimerais-tu avoir une plante plus foncée? Alors place-la plus loin de la fenêtre. Où préfères-tu des feuilles plus claires? Dans ce cas, une place à la fenêtre est optimale. Les feuilles longues, fortes, pointues et élégantes s’élancent dans les airs. Ces pics impressionnants ne dépassent généralement pas un mètre de hauteur. Ils utilisent toutes leurs forces pour grandir. Même le pot peut se casser s'il n'est pas assez grand. La Sansevieria fleurit rarement. Mais si cela se produit, ta patience sera récompensée par un parfum merveilleusement doux.
 

 Provenance 

La Sansevieria est habituée à la chaleur, car elle provienne de zones désertiques, y compris l'Ethiopie. En 1794, le naturaliste Carl Peter Thunberg lui a donné son nom botanique d'après le scientifique, inventeur et aristocrate italien Raimondo di Sangro, VII Prince de Sansevero.

© Textes en coopération avec blumenbuero.de

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Tél.: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

S'abonner à la newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Textes en coopération avec blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch