This is George. | maennerpflanze

 This is George. 

Elephant's foot

(Beaucarnea recurvata)  

Pot-Ø: 20cm

Height: approx. 60cm

The Jungle 

King for

your home.

Care tips

  • The Elephant's foot appreciates a bright position.

  • Do not give it water until the soil feels dry. 

  • Dried-up brown shoots can be cut back or removed completely.

  • During the growing season (spring and summer) it is enough to fertilize every two weeks.

  • Cats love to chew on the shoots of the plant. These are not poisonous, but the leaf cannot recover from such an “attack”. 

Symbolism, colours & shapes

The Beaucarnea is a symbol of strength and endurance. The botanical name honours Jean-Baptiste Beaucarne, a Belgian succulent lover who was the first to succeed in making a Beaucarnea recurvata blossom. The plant owes its name “Elephant’s foot”, on the other hand, to its noticeable expanded caudex, which is quite similar to the feet of a pachyderm.

In fact, the Elephant's foot does not look like a houseplant at all, but rather like a small tree: from a expanded base grows a palm-like stem crowned by a funny curly “head” of elongated leaves arranged in a rosette. Officially, this is a flowering plant. But indoors, the Beaucarnea rarely blooms and when it does, the flowers are very unimpressive. The tree stands out not only for its distinctive silhouette, but also for its stamina. The plant grows slowly but steadily and tolerates a lot. If you forget to water the plant, this is not bad at all. The plant stores water in the caudex so that it can survive in dry phases. Thus the Elephant’s foot supplies itself partially, which makes it very suitable for plant care beginners.
 

Origin

Although the Elephant's foot is often thought to be a palm tree, the plant belongs to the Asparagaceae family. It is native to the south of the United States and South America. Here the plant grows to a tree size of about eight meters in height and one meter in diameter. In Mexico there are “Elephant's foot” that are already 350 years old. In indoor cultivation, the plants become less large, but they can still develop into stately indoor trees. Just make sure that the leaves can hang freely. If they have contact with a wall, a cupboard or a curtain, they can turn brown. By the way, this also happens when the air humidity is low.

© Texte in Kooperation mit blumenbuero.de

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4 

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Phone: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Texts in cooperation with blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch

Voici George. | maennerpflanze

 Voici George. 

Pied d'éléphant

(Beaucarnea recurvata)  

Pot-Ø: 20cm

Hauteur: env. 60cm

Le Roi 

de la jungle 

pour ta maison.

Conseils de soin

  • Le Pied d'éléphant apprécie un emplacement lumineux.

  • Ne lui donne pas d'eau avant que le sol ne soit sec. 

  • VTu peux couper les pousses brunes séchées ou les enlever complètement.

  • Pendant la saison de croissance (printemps et été), il suffit de fertiliser toutes les deux semaines.

  • Les chats adorent mâcher les pousses de la plante. Celles-ci ne sont pas toxiques, mais la feuille ne se remettra pas d'une telle «attaque». 

Symbolique, couleurs et formes

Le Beaucarnea est un symbole de force et de persévérance. Le nom rend hommage à Jean-Baptiste Beaucarne, un amateur belge de succulentes qui fut le premier à réussir à faire fleurir un Beaucarnea recurvata. La plante doit son nom de «Pied d'éléphant» à la base de son tronc renflée, qui ressemble beaucoup au pied d'un pachyderme.

À vrai dire, le Pied de l'éléphant ne ressemble pas à une plante d'intérieur, mais plutôt à un petit arbre: d'une base renflée pousse un tronc droit, qui est couronné par une drôle de tête «frisée» de feuilles allongées disposées en rosette. Officiellement, c'est une plante fleurie. Mais à l'intérieur, le Beaucarnea fleurit assez rarement et quand il fleurit, les fleurs sont à peine visibles. Le Pied d’éléphant se distingue non seulement par sa silhouette, mais aussi par son endurance. La plante pousse lentement mais régulièrement et tolère beaucoup. Si tu oublies l'arrosage, ça ne fait rien. Dans l’excroissance et le tronc, la plante stocke l'eau afin de survivre dans les phases sèches. Ainsi, le Pied d'éléphant s'alimente en partie tout seul, ce qui le rend très adapté aux débutants en soins des plantes.
 

Provenance

Bien que le Pied d'éléphant soit souvent considéré comme un palmier, la plante appartient à la famille des Asparagacées. Elle est originaire du sud des États-Unis et de l'Amérique du Sud. Ici, la plante pousse à une taille d’environ huit mètres de hauteur et un mètre de diamètre. Au Mexique, il y a des «Pieds d'éléphant» âgées de 350 ans. Cultivées à l’intérieur, les plantes deviennent moins grandes, mais elles peuvent quand même se développer en arbres imposants. Assure-toi simplement que les feuilles peuvent pendre librement. Parce que s'ils sont en contact avec un mur, une armoire ou un rideau, ils peuvent brunir. D'ailleurs, cela se produit également lorsque l'humidité de l'air est faible.

© Texte in Kooperation mit blumenbuero.de

Männerpflanze.ch
powered by Fleurop

Förliwiesenstrasse 4

8602 Wangen b. Dübendorf

Tél.: 044 751 82 85

contact@maennerpflanze.ch

S'abonner à la newsletter
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

© Textes en coopération avec blumenbuero.de

© 2018 by Fleurop.ch